Maria-Jastrzebska_cover_small

My poet and creative artist friend Seni Seneviratne

http://seniseneviratne.com/

has introduced me to The Next Big Thing where I write about one of my books – my new poetry collection  – At The Library of Memories from: www.waterloopresshove.co.uk.

Where did the idea come from for the book? 

For ages I’d wanted to construct an imaginary building – a place I, as the writer, and also the reader could enter and explore.

 What genre does your book fall under? 

Poetry 

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition? 

I’d like Helen Mirren, Judi Dench, Sofie Gråbøl, Penelope Cruz and Maciej Stuhr.  Don’t ask me exactly what they would do, but I know they’d be fantastic in it.

 What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

“vivid, thought-provoking poetry… leaves us with urgent questions which imperceptibly have become our own”  Susan Wicks  “…dazzling conjurings of lost times and places…a poet at the height of her imaginative powers.”  Nick Drake

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I can’t remember! Or how many drafts there have been.  It started off as prose poems but that wasn’t quite working. I was lucky enough to have an Arts Council grant for some mentoring from Moniza Alvi during the actual writing of it which was brilliant and other poets very kindly looked at later versions and suggested edits so the scaffolding could fall away, which was, and always is, invaluable.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My Polish upbringing, my queer life, a double life, different hats, love, family, friends, beauty, nature, the notion of ‘you’, I could go on… 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
The collection contains several wolves, a kiss, terza rima…

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency? 

Published by Waterloo Press www.waterloopresshove.co.uk.

My five writers for next Wednesday are:

Astrid Alben www.astridalben.com

Wioletta Grzegorzewska  http://pamiec-smieny.blogspot.co.uk/

John McCullough  www.johnmccullough.co.uk/

Maggie Sawkins  http://hookedonwords.wordpress.com

Sudeep Sen    www.sudeepsen.net/

703607_10151195438028401_1444799437_o

